Cureality Proficiency Certifications and Awards X
Inner Circle Forums

Portions of the Undoctored Inner Circle Member Forum and its vast wealth of knowledge, are available only to our Members.
Becoming an Inner Circle Member will allow you to post topics, ask Dr. Davis questions, and view all replies.

Did I make Reuteri yogurt?

Member Forum >> Recipes >> Did I make Reuteri yogurt?

royston

No Avatar

Posts Contributed: 2
Recommends Recd: 0
Ignores Issued: 0
Certs & Awards: 0   view

Likes Recd: 0

Posted: 9/16/2020 7:14:52 AM
Edited: 9/16/2020 7:22:35 AM (1)

Hi, I’m a newbie here and am trying to make the Reuteri yogurt from the BioGaia Gastrus tablets, but I’m not sure if it worked, so to compare I made a new batch and split it up in 3 glasses, to make 3 different versions:
  1. Without any Reuteri (so just the milk + cream + inulin mix).
  2. With Reuteri from 3 crushed BioGaia Gastrus tablets (for the ~175ml).
  3. With Reuteri from the whey (1 tablespoon) of the 2nd generation Reuteri yogurt I made before that I initially started with the same BioGaia Gastrus tablets.
The results look like this:

This is after 36 hours at around 100°F (37°C).

As I can’t get half-and-half here, I stirred together 300 ml full fat milk (not raw milk) + 200 ml of whip cream + 1 tablespoon of inulin powder. I did NOT re-pasteurise, just preheated it to 100°F and then distributed it over the glasses, stirred in the crushed tablets or whey liquid (with different spoons), and then put the glasses in the yogurt maker.

Ignore the level as I didn’t even it out precisely between the 3 glasses. Also as I mixed the milk with whip cream, I think the fat from the whip cream all floated to the top again. The full-fat milk itself is organic, pasteurised, but not homogenised either.